James O’Connor named as fly-half, while Rory Arnold also starts in the Rugby Championship clash with Argentina

Credit: PA Images

The Wallabies named James O’Connor as fly-half for their Rugby Championship second-round clash against Argentina in San Juan on Saturday.

O’Connor replaces the injured Quade Cooper in Australia’s starting squad for the match, with Lalakai Foketi at inside center this weekend.

Nic White partners with O’Connor in the midfield, while Foketi will have Len Ikitau off him in midfield as the Wallabies look for another win.

Jordan Petaia will once again start on the right flank, with Marika Koroibete on the left. Tom Wright’s impressive first start at right back keeps him going.

Rory Arnold starts on the lock

In the group, Rory Arnold makes his first Test appearance this year, named on the second starting row alongside former Brumbies team-mate Darcy Swain.

There’s also a change to the front row with Taniela Tupou set to run at tight prop, joining hooker Folau Fainga’a and James Slipper up front.

The back line remains unchanged with last weekend’s rookie Jed Holloway to start as blindside flanker alongside Fraser McReight and Rob Valetini.

On the bench, Pone Fa’amausili has been named to make his possible test bow, along with Matt Gibbon and Lachlan Lonergan as front-row options.

Nick Frost’s Test run continues to grow, again brought in to cover the locks with the versatile Pete Samu able to provide back row support.

Tate McDermott has been withdrawn and will bring energy as a final scrum-half, with Irae Simone and Reece Hodge as other backline players.

“After a tough and physical game last week, it’s fantastic to be able to bring in the experience of guys like James and Rory and also to see the team’s enthusiasm for La and Irae, who will take the Wallaby gold again on Saturday.” said the head of the Wallabies. Coach Dave Rennie.

“It will be a proud occasion for Pone and his family and it is a testament to him for the hard work and obstacles he had to overcome to win his first trial cap.

“Argentina and their fans will be waiting for an answer this weekend and we will need to increase our physicality and precision to obtain another positive result in San Juan.”

The team

Australia: 15 Tom Wright, 14 Jordan Petaia, 13 Len Ikitau, 12 Lalakai Foketi, 11 Marika Koroibete, 10 James O’Connor, 9 Nic White, 8 Rob Valetini, 7 Fraser McReight, 6 Jed Holloway, 5 Darcy Swain, 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Taniela Tupou, 2 Folau Fainga’a, 1 James Slipper (c)
Replacements: 16 Lachlan Lonergan, 17 Matt Gibbon, 18 Pone Fa’amausili, 19 Nick Frost, 20 Pete Samu, 21 Tate McDermott, 22 Irae Simone, 23 Reece Hodge

Date: Saturday, August 13
Event: San Juan Bicentennial Stadium, San Juan
Kick off: 4:10 p.m. local time (8:10 p.m. BST, 7:10 p.m. GMT)
Referee: Karl Dickson (England)
Assistant referees: Mike Adamson (Scotland), Chris Busby (Ireland)
OMT: Marius van der Westhuizen (SARU)

READ MORE: Argentina: Juan Imhoff starts in one of four substitutions for Rugby Championship rematch with Australia

The Wallabies article: James O’Connor named fly half while Rory Arnold also starts in Rugby Championship clash with Argentina appeared first on Planetrugby.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.